You can see the request visibility in the visibility bar at the top of the screen (currently orange and reading “Visibility: Staff Only”). This means that the request is currently visible to internal users and the requester only. If the default request visibility for your portal is different than Staff Only, the orange bar will read whatever your default is. Certain requests may be sensitive enough that you want to permanently restrict access, however requests that are appropriate for the public can be a resource for future visitors to the NextRequest portal. In some cases it may prevent a new request from being filed because the visitor finds what they need in a previous request! While you can change the visibility of a request at any time, the most common workflow is to publish a request after closing it out.
Steps to publishing a request:
- Click the ‘Change’ button in the orange visibility bar at the top of the screen
- Select the ‘Published’ option
- Click the ‘Save’ button
- The visibility bar at the top will change to white and the text will say “Visibility: Published”