1. Help Center
  2. Reference
  3. Managing an Organization Account (admins only)

Adding document links and closure responses to requester notifications

Document Links

When releasing documents to requesters, you can choose whether or not to send them a link that allows them to download their documents without having to log in to the portal! The link stays active for one month, after which they'll have to log in. This is a global setting that will turn on document links for all future release documents.

How to turn on the document link setting

  1. Sign in to your account
  2. Click the ADMIN link in the header
  3. Click the Portal Settings subheader
  4. Click Notifications on the left side panel
  5. Check the box for "Include shareable document links in "document released" emails sent to requesters"
  6. Click SAVE.

Things to be aware of

  • If the document is public and on a public request, the link will still work past the initial one month.
  • If the box in Portal Settings is unchecked after a link has already been delivered, the link will continue to work for 1 month past the send date. The only way to disable the link is to retract the document.
  • Just because someone has access to a document link doesn't mean they have access to the request itself. They will still have to log in to view the request.
  • This feature will be turned off by default for all portals created before 1/22/18. Any portals created from then on will have this feature turned on.
  • This is a global setting. It is not possible to turn it on/off for individual documents.

Closure Responses

You can include the text of your closure response in the email notification to requesters that lets them know their request has been closed. Requesters no longer have to log into the portal to read why their request was closed! This is a global setting that will apply to all future closure responses.

How to turn on the closure responses setting

  1. Sign in to your account
  2. Click the ADMIN link in the header
  3. Click the Portal Settings subheader
  4. Click Notifications on the left side panel
  5. Check the box for "Include closure reason text in request closure notifications to staff and requesters"
  6. Click SAVE.

Things to be aware of:

  • This feature is turned off by default for any portal created before 1/22/18. Any portal created from then on will have this feature turned on.
  • This is a global setting. It is not possible to turn it on/off for individual requests.