Adding and Managing Tasks

You can add use tasks to plan out and track individual actions that need to be taken on a request. Like with requests, users will be notified if a task they are assigned to is due soon or overdue. Tasks are very flexible and can accommodate a variety of workflows depending on an organization's internal processes and the complexity of the particular request. Some possibilities include:

  • Each individual user adds a task to track the work they need to do
  • The Point of Contact creates all of the tasks for a request at the beginning of the process
  • The Point of Contact monitors a request and creates new tasks as earlier ones are completed

This help document covers everything you need to know about adding and managing tasks on a request. For an overview of the Tasks feature and how to use it see our release announcement (). Click on a link in the list to jump to that section:

How to add a task to a request

Any staff user can add a task to any request that they have access to. Tasks can only be assigned to staff who are already on the request either as the Point of Contact or Support Staff. Only one person can be assigned to a task at a time.

Steps for adding a task to a request

  1. Sign in to your account
  2. Navigate to the request that you want to add a task to
  3. Locate the Tasks section below the Staff section on the left
  4. Click the Add Tasks (Screen_Shot_2017-05-18_at_3.38.19_PM.png) button
  5. Select a user to assign the task to
    • Note: only users who are on the request as either the Point of Contact or Support Staff will appear in the list
  6. Enter a description of the task
  7. Enter a due date either by typing in the Due date field or selecting a date from the calendar
  8. Click the SAVE button

How to mark a task as complete

Any user who has access to a request can mark one of its tasks as complete. When a task was completed and who by will be recorded in the request timeline.

Steps for marking a task as complete

  1. Sign in to your account
  2. Navigate to the request with the task you want to mark complete
  3. Locate the task in the task list at the bottom left of the screen (tasks are displayed in the order they are due)
  4. Check the box (unchecked_box.png) to the left of the task

How to change the due date of a request

The due date of a task can be changed at anytime after the task is created. When the due date of at ask is changed, the original and new dates will be recorded in the timeline.

Steps for changing the due date of a request

  1. Sign in to your account
  2. Navigate to the request with the task you want to change the due date of
  3. Locate the task in the task list at the bottom left of the screen (tasks are displayed in the order they are due)
  4. Click the Edit icon (edit_icon.png) next to the task name
  5. Enter a due date either by typing in the Due date field or selecting a date from the calendar
  6. Click the SAVE button

How to change who a task is assigned to

A task can be assigned to a new user at any time after it is created. Only one user can be assigned to a task at a time.

Steps for changing who a task is assigned to

  1. Sign in to your account
  2. Navigate to the request with the task you want to reassign
  3. Locate the task in the task list at the bottom left of the screen (tasks are displayed in the order they are due)
  4. Click the Edit icon (edit_icon.png) next to the task name
  5. Select a new user from the drop down
    • Note: only users who are on the request as either the Point of Contact or Support Staff will appear in the list
  6. Click the SAVE button

How to update a task's description

Steps for updating a task's description

  1. Sign in to your account
  2. Navigate to the request with the task you want update
  3. Locate the task in the task list at the bottom left of the screen (tasks are displayed in the order they are due)
  4. Click the Edit icon (edit_icon.png) next to the task name
  5. Update the description of the task
  6. Click the SAVE button

How to delete a task

If a task is no longer relevant you can delete it from the Request. For steps for marking a task as Complete click here.

Steps for deleting a task

  1. Sign in to your account
  2. Navigate to the request with the task you want to delete
  3. Locate the task in the task list at the bottom left of the screen (tasks are displayed in the order they are due)
  4. Click the Delete icon (delete_icon_white_background.png) next to the task
  5. Click OK

How to mark a completed task as not complete

If you accidentally mark a task as complete or realize that a completed task requires more work you can mark that task as not complete.

Steps for marking a completed task as not complete

  1. Sign in to your account
  2. Navigate to the request with the task you want to mark as not complete
  3. Locate the task in the task list at the bottom left of the screen (complete tasks are crossed out and moved to the bottom of the list)
  4. Click the checked box (checkbox.png) to the left of the task

How to view all tasks assigned to you

In addition to viewing tasks on a particular request, you can also view all tasks that are assigned to you across all requests. For users responsible for coordinating tasks assigned to other people, there is also the option of viewing all tasks on all assigned requests.

Steps for viewing all tasks assigned to you

  1. Sign in to your account
  2. Click the TASKS link at the top of the screen
  3. Depending on your role different filters may be applied by default. The following filters/searches are available in the lefthand column:
    • Filter 'Tasks assigned to me'
    • Filter 'Tasks from all my requests'
    • Status
    • Search by Assignee